The City of Albany's housing program is managed by the Housing Authority of the County of Alameda, which also serves the communities of Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Newark, Pleasanton, San Leandro, Union City, Castro Valley and San Lorenzo.

The Housing Authority provides rental assistance to over 7,000 low income households through its Section 8 and Affordable Housing programs. The Housing Authority provides this assistance without regard to race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation or disability status.