Committee Origin
City Council Resolution #07-46, Resolution No. 2012-80

Committee Purpose
The Sustainability Committee is established to advise the City Council on policies, programs, and issues promoting environmental sustainability in the City of Albany. The Committee provides leadership, technical assistance, education and outreach to members of the public, schools, local businesses, and city agencies on innovative programs to promote environmental sustainability through energy conservation, solid waste reduction and recycling, water conservation, pollution prevention, transportation efficiency, and other means.

Committee Composition
The Committee is composed of seven members, each one is appointed by Council members. There is one at-large appointment and one youth member or adult appointed by the Albany Unified School District Board. The term runs until the next Municipal election (every 2 years).

Thomas Cooper Council Member Maass
Nick Peterson Vice Mayor Pilch
Robert Uhrhammer Council Member Barnes
Max Wei Mayor McQuaid
Stephanie Siehr Council Member Nason
Eric Larson City Council at-large
Samantha Smithies Board of Education

(Roster updated 9/6/2018)

Contact Sustainability Committee
Please note that correspondence sent to the Committee is part of the official public record. Correspondence received will be sent to the Committee via the Staff Liaison.

City of Albany Sustainability Committee
c/o Claire Griffing
1000 San Pablo Avenue
Albany, CA 94706
Email Staff Liaison, Claire Griffing

Sustainability Committee Audio Archive